the divided island


Cyprus - 2016

The history of the island of Cyprus is one of the oldest in the world.

Rich in natural beauty, the island is located between three continents, Europe, Asia and Africa, and this has always been considered the land of an extremely strategic geographic position, so it attract the great powers, which, throughout history, have had significant influence on this area.
Despite the foreign alternation, the Cypriot people has been able to absorb external influence without ever losing their identity.

After the end of British colonial era, in 1960 Cyprus became an independent and sovereign state until 1974, the year that marks an attempted coup from the greek state, which followed by the turkish military intervention. Since that date the whole territory of Cyprus is been divided into two areas: the North State, under Turkish protection, not recognized by the international community, and the South State, with Greek ethnicity, universally regarded as the only Republic of Cyprus. This decades-long division has affected both parts of the country in both political and economic terms until it got to the tough economic crisis that began in 2012.
The two republics of the island are still separated by a buffer zone called the "Green Line", marked with signs, barbed wire, sandbags and mined areas. The area is currently manned by a multinational contingent of UN peacekeepers (UNFICYP).

In recent months the negotiations between the two entities, greek Cypriot and Turkish, have intensified and despite the failed advanced reconciliation proposals in the past, never as in this moment a new future for the island seems more close and possible.